SLAS Annual General Meeting 8 April 2012 University of Sheffield

Secretary's Report: Adrian Pearce

SLAS GRANT SCHEMES AND AWARDS

The Secretary reported on awards made under the various SLAS grant schemes since the AGM 2011, as follows:

POSTGRADUATE TRAVEL GRANTS

Twenty of these grants are available, each worth up to £600. A wholly unprecedented 46 valid applications were received by the single annual deadline, of 28 February. Twenty full awards were made to:

- 1. Oliver Balch (Cambridge)
- 2. Daniela Bressa Florentin (Bath)
- 3. Nick Clare (Sheffield)
- 4. **Agustin Diz** (LSE)
- 5. Catalina Droppelmann Roepke (Cambridge)
- 6. Javier Gonzalez Díaz (Cambridge)
- 7. Max-Emanuel Hatzold (Bath)
- 8. Patrick Illmer (Bradford)
- 9. Laura Teresa Loyola Hernández (Cambridge)
- 10. Agata Lulkowska (Birkbeck)
- 11. Nathaniel Morris (Oxford)
- 12. Yoana Fernanda Nieto Valdivieso (Hull)
- 13. Sarah Parry (Liverpool)
- 14. Victoria Pereyra Iraola (Warwick)
- 15. **Rosemary Smith** (Nottingham)
- 16. Marcia Alejandra Vera Espinoza (Sheffield)
- 17. Shadi Whitburn (Glasgow)
- 18. Goya Wilson Vasquez (Bristol)
- 19. Rachel Godfrey Wood (Institute of Development Studies)
- 20. Camila Yamahaki (Middlesex)

POSTGRADUATE CONFERENCE GRANTS

Eight of these grants are made available each year, each worth up to £500. We received 7 applications by the 28 September deadline, and (again) a wholly unprecedented 21 applications by the 28 February deadline (applications were thus triple those in typical years recently). A total of eleven awards were in fact made, of which nine were full grants of £500, to:

- 1. Pablo Calderón Martínez (King's College London)
- 2. Mateja Celestina (Manchester)
- 3. Ainhoa Montoya (Manchester)
- 4. Matt Wilde (LSE)
- 5. Maria Mancilla Garcia (Oxford)
- 6. Beatriz Tadeo Fuica (St Andrews)
- 7. Alejandra Serpente (Institute for the Study of the Americas)
- 8. Esther López Pila (Sussex)
- 9. James Butterworth (Royal Holloway).

Carolina Ramirez (Goldsmiths) was made a grant of partial grant of £488, and Franka Winter (Trinity College Dublin at Belfast) one of £360.

CONFERENCE POSTGRADUATE BURSARIES

Twenty grants were available, each worth £165. Mysteriously, we received only 13 valid applications by the 15 February deadline, and so made thirteen awards, to:

- 1. Angela Ballone (Liverpool)
- 2. Natalie Cresswell (Newcastle)
- 3. Rosie Doyle (St Andrews)
- 4. Luciana Lang Reinisch (Manchester)
- 5. Roger Merino Acuña (Bath)
- 6. **Daniel Ozarow** (Middlesex)
- 7. **Alejandro Peña** (City)
- 8. Mara Polgovsky Ezcurra (Cambridge)
- 9. **Holly Ryan** (City)
- 10. Fernando Sdrigotti (Birkbeck)
- 11. **Alexandra Seedhouse** (Newcastle)
- 12. **Beatriz Tadeo Fuica** (St Andrews)
- 13. Tamara Tatem-Hale (LSE).

'LATIN AMERICAN SCHOLAR' GRANTS

Seven grants 'Latin American Scholar' grants were available to bring scholars and other recognised speakers to the UK for the Annual Conference, each worth up to £1,000. We received a rather low eight applications by the 15 February deadline, and six awards were made, as follows:

Full awards

- 1. Natalia Priego (Mexico)
- 2. Santiago Bastos Amigo (Mexico)
- 3. Samuel Martínez (Mexico)
- 4. Gabriel Levita (Argentina)

Partial awards (£575):

- 1. Carlos Alzugaray Treto (Cuba)
- 2. Rafael Hernández (Cuba)

CONFERENCE AND EVENT SUPPORT

A total of £3,000 is available under this scheme, with individual grants limited to a maximum of £1,000. We received five applications by each of the annual deadlines, of 28 September and 28 February, and a total of five awards were made, as follows:

- 1. **Sarah Barrow**, for an event titled '*Reframing the National in Hispanic Film*', held at the University of Lincoln on 24-25 February 2012: £1,000.
- 2. **Stephen Hart**, for an event titled 'Science-Politics-Art: Re-Visioning César Vallejo', held at University College London on 15-16 March 2012: £750.
- 3. **Catherine Davies**, for an event titled '*Women in Latin American Independence: History, Society, Culture*', held at the Institute for the Study of the Americas in late March 2012: £600.
- 4. Andrés Villar, Carmen Sepúlveda, and Tomás Undurraga, for an event titled 'Chile's Winter of Discontent: The Breakdown of a paradigm in Latin America?', to be held at the Institute for the Study of the Americas on 11 May 2012: £1,000.
- 5. **Deborah Toner**, for an event titled '*Economic Liberalism in the Americas*', to be held at the Institute for the Study of the Americas on 6 June 2012: £750.

SLAS also funded **Fiona McIntyre's** event based around the Argentine writer Andrés Neuman, held in Edinburgh early this year, to the tune of £245; this award was carried over from the previous round due to delays in its organisation.

LATIN AMERICAN SEMINAR GRANTS

Two grants each worth £500 were available to support seminar programmes in Latin American Studies at UK institutions, with a single annual deadline of 28 September. Only one application was received this year, and **Charlotte Gleghorn** was duly awarded a full grant for a seminar series titled '*Identities in Flux: Critical Perspectives on Latin America*', to run at Royal Holloway in 2012.

POSTDOCTORAL TRAVEL GRANTS

Two grants of up to £1,000 each were avilable to support research by applicants having received their doctorates within the past five years. Five applications were received by the 28 February deadline, and full awards were made to:

- 1. **Thomas Muhr** of the University of Bristol for a project titled 'Venezuelan interests in its cooperation with Brazil: Strategic alliance, cross-border integration, or co-optation?'
- 2. **Katinka Weber** of the University of Liverpool for a project titled 'Constructing Indigenous Territories and Autonomies in Bolivia'.

ELECTIONS TO THE SLAS COMMITTEE

The Secretary reported on the outcome of the 2012 elections to the SLAS Committee. The following posts were available:

Treasurer: standard two-year post Secretary: standard two-year post

Three (3) Ordinary Members: standard two-year posts

By the deadline, valid nominations had been received as follows:

Treasurer: John Fisher (Liverpool)

Secretary: Sarah Bowskill (Queen's University, Belfast)

Ordinary Member: Jens Hentschke (Newcastle)

Ordinary Member: David Wood (Sheffield)
Ordinary Member: Nina Laurie (Newcastle)

Since no other members stood for these posts, the above-mentioned were duly elected to the Committee for the period 2012-2014. In addition, Manuel Barcia Paz (Leeds) has kindly agreed to be co-opted on to the Committee for a single year (2012-2013), to fill the vacancy left by Sarah Bowskill's election as Secretary, pending fresh elections next year.