Secretary's Report: Sarah Bowskill

SLAS Grant Schemes and Awards

A significant percentage of SLAS income continues to be reinvested in the form of grants and awards. I am pleased to report far fewer incidences of applications being discounted because the applicants do not meet the criteria. However, there is an emerging trend of applications from postgraduate students falling year on year. Members are encouraged to apply for these grants and awards and to publicise them to PhD students and colleagues.

Since the AGM 2017 the following awards have been made:

Postgraduate Travel Grants

Twenty of these grants are available, each worth up to £600 to encourage and assist in overseas fieldwork. A total of 18 applications were received by the single annual deadline in February. The number of applications was in keeping with last year but markedly fewer than in the previous two years. 17 awards were made to:

Oriol Ambrogio (King's College London) Natasha Bailey (Leicester) Leonardo Bevilacqua (Oxford) Eileen Andrea Karmy Bolton (Glasgow) Elizabeth Chant (UCL) Jennifer Chisholm (Cambridge) Barbara Foster (Bristol) Gabriela Garcia Garcia (Aberdeen) Carolina Gutierrez Munoz (UCL) Tamsin Mitchell (York) Eleonora Natale (Keele) Daniel Robins (St Andrews) Richard Smith (Liverpool) Giulia Torino (Cambridge) Evelyn Uribe (Glasgow) Isidora Urrutia Steinert (Bristol) Frida Xaman ek Estrella Garcia (Birmingham)

Postgraduate and Postdoctoral Conference Grants

Twenty five grants were available, each worth £200. The postgraduate and postdoctoral schemes remained merged. SLAS continues to recognise the need to

support postdoctoral researchers through this scheme but there were few applications from postdoctoral students this year and numbers were similarly low last year. As last year we did not receive as many applications as one might expect 18 applications were received and 13 awards of £200 were made one of which was not taken up:

Dana Brablec (Cambridge)
Jennifer Chisholm (Cambridge)
Axel Elias (KCL)
Struan Gray (Brighton)
Alba Griffin (Newcastle)
Agata Lulkowska (Birkbeck)
Desiree Poets (Aberystwyth)
Kat Quintijn (UCL) Subsequently withdrew.
Tatiana Sánchez Parra (Essex)
Isabel Segui (St Andrews)
Gerardo Torres Contreras (Sussex)
Peter Watson (Sheffied)
Delia Alejandra Murguia Gutierrez (Edinburgh)

'Latin American Scholar' Grants

27 eligible applications to this scheme were received. This is an increase compared to last year. Following the introduction of new criteria 1 award went to an early career scholar who is within five years of completion of their thesis/dissertation Five awards of £1000 were made to:

Juan Andrés Antillano (Venezuela)
Paul Chambers (Colombia)
Maria Eugenia Robles Mengoa (Bolivia)
Felipe Tavares Paes Lopes (Brazil)
Katia Valenzuela Fuentes (Chile)

Conference and Event and Seminar Grants Support

A few years ago the funding for these schemes was combined to enable the committee to make awards to the best applications and prevent a situation where money is held back for later rounds. This seems to have been successful so a single annual deadline has been maintained. A total of £4000 was available under these schemes this year.

14 applications were made. This number was higher than in previous years. The number of applications allowed for healthy competition and a good success rate. 8 awards were made:

Isabel Segui (St Andrews) 'The Ukamau Group: New Perspectives on Cinematic Practices, Overshadowed Practitioners, and Texts' (£500)

Ainhoa Montoya and Alexander Curry (Institute of Latin American Studies) 'Carving Out a Future amidst Public Insecurity: Generational Shifts in Violent Latin American Contexts' (£780)

William Tantam (ILAS) 'The Black Atlantic Footballer: class, race, and gender across borders' (£220)

Penny Miles (Bath) 'Sexual Politics in Latin America: Theoretical, Conceptual and Strategic Lessons from the Global South' (£500)

Clara Garavelli (University of Leicester) 'May 1968' (£500)

Jannine Poletti-Hughes (University of Liverpool) 'Corruption in Latin America' (£500)

Kate Quinn (Institute of the Americas, UCL) '1968 in the Americas: Impact, Legacies an Memory' (£1000)

Postgraduate Overseas Conference Grant

Eight of these grants are made available each year, each worth up to £500 to enable students to present a paper at an overseas conference. This year there was a single deadline in February. Again the number of applications to this scheme was much lower than expected. This is the second year that applications have been low. The following awards were made:

Diana Benjumea (Nottingham) Inge Boudewijn (Northumbria) Bruno Dalponte (Birmingham) Daniel Robins (St Andrews) Eleonora Natale (Keele) Giuseppe Troccoli (St Andrews)

The Blakemore Prize of £600 was awarded to Juan Manuel del Nido (University of Manchester) for his essay entitled: 'Uber in Buenos Aires: The Populist Persuasion of Algorithmic Management'

Elections to the SLAS Committee

The Secretary reported on the outcome of the 2018 elections.

The following posts were available:

Secretary: standard two-year post

Treasurer: standard two-year post

3 x Ordinary Members: standard two-year post

Treasurer - John Fisher was re-elected

Secretary - Eamon McCarthy

By the deadline, three valid nominations had been received for the position of Ordinary Member and the following were duly elected:

Courtney Campbell (Birmingham) Katy Jenkins (Northumbria) Karen Siegel (Glasgow)

As Eamon will be stepping down from his post as Ordinary Member a year early in order to take up the position of Secretary, Sarah Bowskill was co-opted back onto the Committee for one year as an Ordinary Member. The committee currently only has 5 Ordinary Members instead of the full complement of 6 so Marieke Reithoff was also co-opted for another year and we have a full SLAS committee.