Society for Latin American Studies Annual General Meeting April 2016 Liverpool

Secretary's Report: Sarah Bowskill

SLAS Grant Schemes and Awards

As seen in the Treasurer's Report, a significant percentage of SLAS income went on grants and awards. The Committee regularly discusses the schemes to ensure that they are working for the Members. Members are encouraged to apply for these grants and awards and to publicise them to PhD students and colleagues. I am pleased to report far fewer incidences of applications being discounted because the applicants do not meet the criteria.

Since the AGM 2015 the following awards have been made:

• Postgraduate Travel Grants

Twenty of these grants are available, each worth up to £600 to encourage and assist in overseas fieldwork. A total of 35 applications were received by the single annual deadline in February. The number of applications was more than in the previous two years. 20 full awards were made to:

Brown, Evie (Sussex) Cruzado, Brigid (St. Andrews) Díaz, Alejandra (Essex) Doman, Juliette (Liverpool) Elias, Axel (King's College London) Garcia Santamaria, Sara (Sheffield) Gribomont, Isabelle (St Andrews) Guevara, José (SAS, London) Hayes de Kalaf, Eve (Aberdeen) Hoell, Maximilian (UCL) Joffré, David (Glasgow) Kardak, Karunika (St Andrews) Morales, Diana (Newcastle) Purvis, Michael (QUB) Radley, Chantel (Open University) Simpson, Simca (QMUL) Smart, Harriet (Sheffield) Smart, Juan (UCL) Tapia, Alejandra (UCL) Valdivia, Raul (Birkbeck)

• Postgraduate and Postdoctoral SLAS Conference Bursaries

Twenty grants were made, each worth £200 and the postgraduate and postdoctoral schemes were merged. SLAS continues to recognise the need to support postdoctoral researchers through this scheme. Three additional awards were set aside (and subsequently awarded) to support a PILAS run panel. As last year we did not receive as many applications as one might expect and there was an extremely high success rate. Under 30 applications were received and 23 awards were made (including the three mentioned above). Awards of £200 were made to:

Nicola Astudillo Jones (Manchester) Emily Baker (Cambridge) Sarah Bennison (Newcastle) Lucy Bollington (Cambridge) Alejandro Bilbao Quiroga (Bristol) Barbara Castillo (Bristol) Liliana Chávez Díaz (Cambridge) Marcos Estrada (Warwick) Daniela Figueroa (UCL) Mary Freedman (QUB) Claudia Giannetto (Goldsmiths) Adrian González (Royal Holloway) Christoph Harig (KCL) Liz Harvey (UCL) Emily Kirk (Nottingham) Maria Antonia Manresa (Newcastle) Maria Montt Strabucchi (Manchester) Ailsa Peate (Liverpool) Isabel Segui (St Andrews) Beatriz Tadeo Fuica (St Andrews) Maria de Vecchi (UCL) Laura Webb (Swansea) Ana Laura Zavala Guillén (Sheffield)

## Latin American Scholars' Grants

Once again we received a large number of applications to this scheme. One more application was received this year compared to last year (21). Following the introduction of new criteria three awards went to early career scholars. who are within five years of completion of their thesis/dissertation Five awards of £1000 were made to:

Pablo Alabarces (Argentina) Julia Kratje (Argentina) Louise De Mello (Brazil) Carolina Soria (Argentina) Santiago Sorroche (Argentina)

## **Conference and Seminar Scheme: Grants Support**

The funding for these schemes was combined to enable us to better respond to demand. A total of £4000 was available under these schemes this year. There was a single annual deadline this year with a view to enabling the committee to make awards to the best applications and prevent a situation where money is held back for later rounds. We received four applications by the September deadline (Last year we had 4 in September and 11 in February suggesting that there may be a period of adjusting to the new deadlines). The following awards were made:

Valentino Gianuzzi (Manchester) £500 - Mediator of Cultures: Inca Garcilaso de la Vega and His Heritage

Jasmine Gideon (Birkbeck) £500 - Living with lifelong exile: Reflections on the Chilean case

Monica Greco (Goldsmith) £500 - "Connected Histories and Sociologies of Neoliberalization between UK and Latin America".

Nicola Miller (UCL) £1000 - Classical Traditions in Latin American History

Joanna Page (Cambridge) £1000 – Theories and Historis of Science and Culture: Latin America, Europe and Beyond

Ricki O'Rawe (QUB) £500 - Posthegemony

## **Postgraduate Overseas Conference Grants**

Eight of these grants are made available each year, each worth up to £500 to enable students to present a paper at an overseas conference. This year there was a single deadline in February instead of two deadlines as in previous years. One more application was received this year compared to last (17 applications received).

Claudia Giannetto (Goldsmiths) Camila Gonzalez Ortiz (KCL) Christoph Harig (KCL) Eve Hayes de Kalaf (Aberdeen) Alberto Marti (Nottingham) Maria Montt (Manchester) Desiree Poets (Aberystwyth) Sanne Weber (Coventry)

**The Blakemore Prize** was awarded to Ailsa Peate, University of Liverpool for her essay "'Travestido, transformado, definitivamente distinto'?: Transgenericidad and Gender Trouble in Leonardo Padura's *Máscaras*".

## Elections to the SLAS Committee

The Secretary reported on the outcome of the 2016 elections.

The following posts were available: Secretary: standard two-year post Treasurer: standard two-year post Four Ordinary Members: standard two-year post

By the deadline, valid nominations had been received as follows:

Secretary: Sarah Bowskill (Queen's University Belfast)

Treasurer: John Fisher (Liverpool)

**Ordinary Members:** 

Néstor Castañeda (UCL)

Katy Jenkins (Northumbria)

Marieke Riethof (Liverpool)

Patience Schell (Aberdeen)

Karen Siegel (Edinburgh Napier)

An online election was held as a result of which the following candidates were elected for the term 2016-2018:

Katy Jenkins (Northumbria), Marieke Riethof (Liverpool). Patience Schell (Aberdeen)

Karen Siegel (Edinburgh Napier).

The Committee would like to thank all of the candidates for putting themselves forward and also thanks outgoing members Cara Levey and James Scorer for their service.