AGM 2019

Secretary's Report: Eamon McCarthy

Thanks to all the SLAS committee for their support this year, especially to Jens Hentschke, whose term as Past President is now at end. I'd also particularly like to thank Sarah Bowskill for both her very supportive handover and for remaining on the committee to ensure a smooth transition after many years of work as SLAS secretary.

SLAS Grant Schemes and Awards

A significant percentage of SLAS income continues to be reinvested in the form of grants and awards. I am pleased to report far fewer incidences of applications being discounted because the applicants do not meet the criteria. Last year we reviewed all grant schemes and increased levels of funding available across many of them. We also created a new award to support Postdoctoral researchers. Members are encouraged to apply for these grants and awards and to publicise them to PhD students and colleagues.

Since the AGM 2018 the following awards have been made:

SLAS Postdoctoral Research Award

This is a new award that offers £2000 to two postdoctoral researchers.

- Dominika Gasiorowski
- Jonathan Alderman

Postgraduate Travel Grants

12 grants worth up to £1000 are available to postgraduate members to encourage and assist in overseas fieldwork.

- Molly Avery (LSE)
- Fernando Concha Correa (Warwick)
- Gabriela Patricia Garcia Garcia (Aberdeen)
- Hannah Gracher (Glasgow)
- Tania Guerrero Rios (UCL)
- Talia Mills (King's College London)
- Tami Okamoto (Cambridge)
- Yvette Siegert (Oxford)
- Laura Mariana Reyes Carranza (Queen Mary)
- Ximena Francisca Soto-Soutullo (King's College London)
- Tatiana Suarez (ILAS)
- Diana María Valencia Duarte (Exeter)

Postgraduate Overseas Conference Grant

Up to 6 grants worth up to £500 each are made available to postgraduate members to attend major conferences held outside the UK.

- Guilia Champion (Warwick)
- Alexander Curry (ILAS)
- Felicia Fricke (Kent)
- Joseph Alejandro Martinez Salinas (Cambridge)
- Kazuma Mizukoshi (UCL)
- Giulia Torino (Cambridge)

Postgraduate and Postdoctoral Conference Grants

We award up to 15 bursaries worth £400 each to postgraduate and postdoctoral researchers to attend this conference.

- Dana Brablec (Cambridge)
- Pablo Bradbury (ILAS)
- Maria del Carmen Ramirez Julian (Southampton)
- Lorena Cervera Ferrer (UCL)
- Juliette Doman (Liverpool) *
- Matthew Doyle (Sussex)
- Gabriela Patricia Garcia Garcia (Aberdeen)
- David Jofre (Glasgow)
- Rupert Knox (Sheffield)
- Karina Lickorish Quinn (Queen Mary)
- Armandina Maldonado Deller (Nottingham)
- Aled Rees (Swansea)
- Giulia Torino (Cambridge)
- Luis Hernan Vargas Faulbaum (Oxford)
- Alessia Zinnari (Glasgow)

*We very recently received the very sad news that Juliet Doman (Liverpool) died suddenly. We extend our deepest sympathy to Juliet's family and also to all our colleagues in Liverpool who worked with Juliet. SLAS will roll Juliet's funding forward in her name to allow a scholar to attend next year's SLAS conference.

'Latin American Scholar' Grants

These awards support scholars working in Latin America and are specifically intended to allow them to attend this annual conference. We now offer up to 6 of these awards and have increased the amount awarded to £1,500:

- Marianna Leite (Brazil)
- Bruno Dalponte (Argentina)
- David Pretel (Mexico)
- Natalia Christofoletti Barrenha (Brazil)
- Sebastian Barros (Argentina)
- Fabio Allan Mendes Ramalho (Brazil)

Conference and Event and Seminar Grants Support

A total of £4,000 is available to support SLAS members organise events in their own institutions. This year awards were made to:

- Lisa Blackmore (Essex), 'Landscapes of Extraction: On the Art of Going to Ground' (£1000)
- Claire Lindsay (UCL), 'Latin America in Periodicals' (£1000)
- Peter Wade (Manchester), 'Latin American comics, popular culture, social difference and inequalities, class, gender, race, indigeneity, sexuality' (£475)
- Katerina Chatzikidi (SAS), 'Beyond the 2018 elections: Reflecting on political (im)possibilities in Brazil' (£500)
- Manoela Carpenedo & Rebecca Ogden (Kent), 'Film Screenings' (£500)
- William Booth (Oxford), 'Modern Mexico, 1976-1994' (£500)

Blakemore Prize

• Jennifer Chisholm (Cambridge), The Favela Housing Movement in Rio de Janeiro

Elections to the SLAS Committee

The Secretary reported on the outcome of the 2019 elections.

The following posts were available:

• President: standard two-year post

Vice-President: standard two-year post

• 3 x Ordinary Members: standard two-year post

President: Professor Patience Schell (Aberdeen)

Vice-President: Dr Thea Pitman (Leeds)

By the deadline, four valid nominations had been received for the position of Ordinary Member. Elections were held and the following people were elected:

Eve Hayes de Kalaf (Liverpool)

Paul Merchant (Bristol)

Marieke Riethof (Liverpool)