AGM 2020

Secretary's Report: Eamon McCarthy

Thanks to all the SLAS committee for their support this year, especially.

SLAS Grant Schemes and Awards

A significant percentage of SLAS income continues to be reinvested in the form of grants and awards. Since the AGM 2019 the following awards have been made:

SLAS Postdoctoral Research Award

This is a scheme that offers £2000 to three postdoctoral researchers. We increased the awards available form two up to three from this year in recognition of the exceptionally high standard of applications.

- Matthew Doyle
- Adriana Rudling
- Jess Wax-Edwards

Postgraduate & Postdoctoral Travel Grants

15 grants worth up to £1000 are available to postgraduate and postdoctoral members to encourage and assist with travel. In this year, we increased the number of awards available and opened the scheme to postdoctoral members.

- Thaís de Carvalho Rodrigues Lopes (East Anglia)
- Lorena Cervera Ferrer (UCL)
- Elizabeth Doolan (UCL)
- Agathe Dupeyron (East Anglia)
- Olivia Engle (Birkbeck)
- Jeremy Gunson (Manchester)
- Erika Herrera Rosales (Warwick)
- Nadia Mosquera (ILAS)
- Samuel Ritholtz (Oxford)
- Lindsay Sekulowicz (Brighton)
- Rasty Sherwani (KCL)
- Sarah Simpson (Edinburgh)
- Giulia Torino (Cambridge)
- Sophia Valle-Cornibert (Northumbria)
- Fleur Van der Hoot (Northumbria)

Postgraduate and Postdoctoral Conference Grants

We award up to 15 bursaries worth £400 each to postgraduate and postdoctoral researchers to attend the SLAS conference.

In 2020, we awarded one extra bursary in memory of Juliette Dorman, who sadly passed away last year.

- Sheneez Amara (Liverpool)
- Andrea Aramburú Villavisencio (Cambridge)
- Molly Avery (LSE)
- Mark Biram (Bristol)
- Dana Brablec (Cambridge)
- Lorena Cervera Ferrer (UCL)
- Alejandra Beatriz del Carmen Díaz de León Cárdenas (Post-doc)
- Gabriela Patricia Garcia Garcia (Aberdeen)
- Camila Ymay González Ortiz (Post-doc)
- Anna Grimaldi (Post-doc)
- María Fernanda Lanfranco (York)
- Ashleigh McCann (Leeds Beckett)
- Anna Sands (Oxford)
- Isabel Seguí (St Andrews)
- Lucy Trotter (LSE)
- Diana Maria Valencia Duarte (Exeter)

Latin American Scholar Grants

These awards support scholars working in Latin America and are specifically intended to allow them to attend the SLAS annual conference. We offer up to 6 of these awards:

- Liliana Chávez Díaz (Mexico)
- Claudia Jorgelina Daniel (Argentina)
- Carlos Adriano Jermonimo de Rosa (Brazil)
- Alejandra Ramm (Chile)
- Matteo Stiglich (Peru)
- Massiel Torres Suárez (Mexico)

Conference and Event and Seminar Grants Support

A total of £4,000 is available to support SLAS members organise events in their own institutions. This year awards were made to:

- Alba Griffin (Newcastle), La calle para tod@s: Critical creativity in the everyday of Latin American and Iberian cities' (£1000)
- Anna Krausova (Oxford), 'Extractive development, indigenous responses, and conflict management in Latin America: the case of the Mapuche in Chile' (£1000)
- Rebecca Ogden (Kent), 'Reproductive policies, practice, justice and rights in Latin America' (£500)

- Francesco Orlandi (Exeter), 'South American Archaeology Meeting at Exeter (SAAME)' (£500)
- Claire Taylor (Liverpool), 'Memory, Victims, and Representation of the Colombian Conflict' (£1000)

Blakemore Prize

The outcome of the Blakemore Prize will be published on the SLAS website over the next few months.

Please note that in light of travel and other restrictions due to the Covid-19 outbreak, SLAS are taking a very flexible approach to our grants this year. We are rolling over grants where possible. Some grant recipients have been unable to spend funds and these will be reinvested back into our activities.

Elections to the SLAS Committee

The Secretary reported on the outcome of the 2020 elections.

The following posts were available:

Secretary: standard two-year postTreasurer: standard two-year post

3 x Ordinary Members: standard two-year post

By the deadline, one nomination had been received for each of the following posts, and nominees were thus appointed to the posts.

Secretary: Eamon McCarthy (Glasgow)

Treasurer: John Fisher (Liverpool)

By the deadline, three valid nominations had been received for the position of Ordinary Member and all candidates were thus duly appointed to the positions.

Katy Jenkins (Northumbria)

Geraldine Lublin (Swansea)

Jannine Poletti-Hughes (Liverpool)